REVIEW: Sleeping with the Fishes by MaryJanice Davidson

This is a fun light romantic fantasy about a not-so-typical mermaid named Fred. It’s sort of like that other MaryJanice Davidson romantic fantasy series about a not-so-typical vampire queen. I enjoyed this book a great deal. MJ has a gift for comedy and I found myself laughing out loud in the dentist office as I read this one.

If you enjoyed the Betsy series, you will likely enjoy this one. The cast is almost identical. Fred talks and behaves just like Betsy. She is self-absorbed, abrasive but at her core, lovable and heroic. She also has a thing for big, stoic dudes who want to make her their queen.

Yeah, Prince Arthur is Sinclair with a tail.

Then there is the flamboyant best friend who was gay as Marc in the Betsy series and is essentially the same in the Fred series only he goes by Jonas and likes women. There are a handful of characters that I haven’t seen in the MJ universe before like Fred’s hippie mother but the characters being recycled from the Betsy series didn’t ruin the book for me.

Something unique to this book that I really enjoyed was the third-person point-of-view. I was fun experiencing the story from multiple character angles. This is something I have not seen before in either the Betsy series or MJ’s werewolf series. I particularly enjoyed the subplot between Jonas and Barb.

Sleeping with the Fishes delivered everything that is great about MaryJanice Davidson’s writing. My only real critique is that I would have liked it to have been longer so that the relationships between Fred and the men who are head-over-heals in love with her could have been better developed. I get that they think she’s swell because she’s a mermaid or in Arthur’s case, the one that got away but I would have liked to see this developed beyond the initial infatuation phase. Looks like there are two more books in the series for this to happen and I look forward to reading them and spending some more time with these characters.

SLEEPING WITH THE FISHES
AUTHOR: MaryJanice Davidson
PUBLISHED: November 28, 2006
GENRE: Paranormal Romance
LENGTH: 268 pages

Find Sleeping with the Fishes on Amazon and Goodreads.

Comments are delicious!

