How I Get Free & Bargain Books to Review

I’ve gotten pretty savvy at finding books free or on bargain. Here are are few of my best sources.

1.BookLook Bloggersblb_badge: If you have a blog or a website, this is a great resource and an easy one to apply for. The application is short and asks for some verification that you have at least 80 followers or subscribers for membership. If you want two books at a time, you can apply for the gold membership if you have at least 300 subscribers. BookLook has print and e-books available.  They are a HarperCollins Christian Publishing company so if you are looking for Christian books they have loads, but if you prefer non-religious books they have those available as well. Once you’ve read the book, you simply post your 200+ word review to their site and you are free to pick a new book.

NetGalley_Logo2. Netgalley: This is a resource specifically for reviewers, bloggers, journalists, librarians, booksellers, or educators. Netgalley has a massive e-library of unpublished titles. To get started sign up and fill out a profile. Then go through the library and request the e-books you would like to read. They only have e-books so you will need an e-reader. The publishers of the books you request will approve or deny your request to download the book based on your profile. For this reason, it is important that you thoroughly fill out your profile and link your website or blog.

overdrive-media-console3. Library/Overdrive: Overdrive provides library access to e-books and audiobooks. You can use this resource online or download the app from their website. Overdrive connects to libraries and schools near you. As with any library, you borrow the book and then return it when you done reading.

Where I live in Wenatchee, Washington the local library is another free book resource. Better yet, our  library connects to most of the libraries in central Washington through North Central Regional Library. From their website you can apply for a free library card and check out books through their mail-order library that ship right to your door. If you’re not from Central Washington, visit the library where you live and explore their resources.

TLCtransparent4. TLC Book Tours: If you have a book blog and an e-reader, sign up for TLC and be considered to participate in virtual book tours. TLC chooses 10-15 bloggers for each tour and then contacts each blogger to schedule a deadline for their review. TLC picks bloggers based on their genre interests. TLC will also post links to your review on their Facebook page providing great exposure for your blog.

tmp266A%255B6%255D5. Amazon: If you have an e-reader or the Kindle app on your phone, Amazon provides loads of free books to download. The Kindle Popular Classics library has a huge selection of public domain titles. Archive.org, OpenLibrary, Project Gutenberg, and ManyBooks.net provide similar titles.

There are also loads of self-published titles that you can download for free. I’m in a group on Facebook called Free Horror e-books that has pointed me in the direction of many great self-published titles on Amazon.

If you are willing to part with a little money, Amazon also has Bargain Books, e-books for $3.99 or less and tons of sales so while I do spend entirely too much money on books I get most of my books for under five bucks.

new_audible_horizontal._V188360181_16. Audible: If you sign up for an Audible trial membership, you can download two free audiobooks that are yours to keep even if you cancel your membership at the end of the trial.

7. Giveaways: Your favorite bloggers, vloggers and publishers are great places to find giveaways. There are also tons of giveaways on Goodreads.

services-policies-policies-porcedures-better-world-books-logo8. BetterWorldBooks: For bargain books, my favorite place to shop online is BetterWorldBooks. They have a wide selection of new and used books and have recently added e-books. For every book you buy from BWB, they donate a book to someone in need through their many nonprofit connections like Books for Africa and Feed the Children. BWB donates the money you spend on your books to programs that support literacy and libraries. And you won’t be spending much on your books. They have a Bargain bin where you can buy 3 books for $10 or 4 for $12. You can also find many books for around $3.99 and shipping is free.

Now I want to hear from you? Where do you find books to review on your blog OR are there any upcoming releases that you would like to see me review?

6 thoughts on “How I Get Free & Bargain Books to Review”

  1. I love you got this because I knew about Edelweiss and NetGalley, but I never knew about all these other ones! You won’t believe the cash I’ve shed on just books alone – and blissfully, too! This is awesome, thank you.

    1. I believe it. I have spent so much money on books in the past but I’m getting better. My biggest weakness is new releases that I have to have the day the come out. When I can, I try to wait until I can get them used but there are some titles that I just can’t resist!

      1. See, my thing is that I gives two fucks about new books. I like ones that’ve had a little time to simmer down from all the hype. Or even ones that aren’t really that hyped at all because they aren’t that popular. That’s prolly my undoing ahah.

        *Luckily* I can afford it; it’s just that I buy in bulk, but I read slooooowllyyyyy.

    1. I’m fairly new to many of these but I’m very excited. I have loads of new books to review! I will have to post a to-be-read list soon. I may need some help deciding which one to read first.

Comments are delicious!

