April Book Haul

I have six new books from Netgalley and Amazon (you can’t see it but I’m doing my I-got-new-books happy dance!):

16068341The Truth About Alice by Jennifer Mathieu [Kindle]:
This is an ARC (Advanced Reader Copy) from Netgalley set for release June 3, 2014.  It is a young adult, literary novel about a high school girl named Alice who is rumored to have slept with two guys at a party. Then one of the guys, Brandon, dies in a car crash because he was sexting her (and now sexting is in my spell check dictionary. My blog is getting so racy!). Four first-person narrators tell the story, none of which are Alice. I started reading The Truth About Alice last night and already I’m invested.  This book is only 208 pages so I’m hoping to have it finished sometime today. Expect a review soon!

19141361Amity by Michol Ostow [Kindle]:
Another Netgalley ARC set for release August 26, 2014. A young adult horror novel about a house called Amity that is either the same house from the Amityville Horror legend or inspired by it. Not sure. But good timing on the author’s part since the real Amityville house just went back on the market. It’s true. Here’s the article.

The novel follows the stories of two teenagers: Connor and Gwen. Connor enjoys the gory dreams he experiences after moving into the house with his family. Gwen’s story takes place ten years later. Her parents moved to the house to start fresh after Gwen’s psychotic break. The story alternates between the two stories of this evil house and how it uses these two teens to carry out its will. I’m expecting this book to be similar to the Amityville horror legend about the haunted house that drove people to kill. I like stories that weave together and surprise endings and I’m hoping Amity delivers both.

18810467Before They Find Us by Michelle Hansen [Kindle]:
The book is another ARC from Netgalley and is about a 17-year-old girl named Rebecca who receives a threatening text. Then, a bomb goes off in her best friend Ryan’s locker two states away. Rebecca worries that these two incidents are related to a crime she witnesses six years ago. Then the FBI labels Ryan a terrorist so he turns to Rebecca and the two of them head to Vegas to clear his name.

This is a young adult thriller. I don’t read too many crime novels so this whole thing sounds like something out of a Tom Cruise movie to me, but one of my goals this year was to read genres outside of my comfort zone so this book might be a good place to start.

15780926The Night has Teeth by Kat Kruger [Kindle]
I am both excited and terrified to read this book. Excited because it is about werewolves. Terrified because I’m writing a book about werewolves and some of the plot points sound similar. (I seriously need to finish my book already before someone else comes up with the same idea.)

I downloaded this book from Amazon for only $2.99 (bargain!). It is a YA horror novel and the first in a trilogy. The sequel, The Night has Claws, is already out  which will make me really happy when I’m done with this one, particularly if it ends on a cliffhanger. Already I’m loving the titles of these books and the covers are fantastic!

Anyway, onto the synopsis: The Night has Teeth is about a 17-year-old named Connor (I just noticed that all the books on this list so far are about 17-year-olds and there is a Connor in Amity. I really need to expand my reading list) who goes to study abroad in Paris and discovers that werewolves live among us and that there are two kinds: the bitten and the born. The bitten are the wolfman, bipedal, half-man, half-beast variety. The born look like ordinary wolves. Connor finds himself on the wanted list of an old werewolf who is searching for a cure and a means of killing all werewolves. The teaser also mentions something about mad scientists. I am very intrigued and I cannot wait to devour this book!

11235712Cinder by Marissa Meyer [Hardback]
Yeah, I know. I’m probably the only person who hasn’t read this book yet. I am finally reading it because I will be meeting author Marissa Meyer at the end of the month (yay!).  Anyhow, you know what it’s about. It’s Cinderella only she’s a cyborg and a mechanic and there’s a prince. It sounds awesome. AND Marissa Meyer lives in Tacoma, WA which is cool because, I like to read local authors. AND Marissa Meyer wrote the first draft of this book for NaNoWriMo. I follow her on Goodreads, the Nano site, and Twitter (actually this is starting to sound more like I cyber stalk her) and really enjoyed her posts. She seems like my kind of people and reviews from my fellow bloggers have been very positive. I’m sure I will love this book. Now, if it would only get here already…I’m going to go check the mail again.

15795357Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell [Kindle]
This is another book that you’ve probably already read. I know. This book is amazing. All the reviews say so. It will probably change my life and make me a better person. So, why have I put off reading it for so long? Because I’m a cheap skate. Lucky for me, the Kindle edition went on sale for $5 at the start of the month. The only thing I love more than getting new books, is getting new books really cheap. For those who haven’t read this yet, it is a YA romance about two music loving teens in the 1986 and all the feels that come with first love. I have the book. I have a box of tissues. I’m ready.

Okay that’s it. Well sort of.

I also ordered Invasion of the Mind Swappers from Asteroid 6 (yep, that’s what it’s really called.) by James Howe for my kiddo.  This is the second book in the Bunnicula spinoff series Tales from the House of Bunnicula told by Howie the puppy. My son would not let me put the first one down until we finished it. These books, like the Bunnicula books, are silly and full of puns and my 9-year-old son can’t get enough of them.

If you are interested in reviews of children’s books, please let me know. I’ve thought of doing something where I review books with my son so you would get the opinion of a parent and a kid.

Now I want to hear from you! Which of these books sounds most interesting to you and which would you like to see a review of? Leave a comment below and if you’re new here, don’t forget to hit that follow button for more book hauls, reviews and posts on writing!

24 thoughts on “April Book Haul”

  1. Hello! I started today “Cinder” and I’m loving it. I’d like to start with some horror books. Can you recomend me a few?

    1. What kind of horror novel are you looking for?

      You like Cinder so you would probably enjoy a YA horror with a bit of romance. One of my favorites is Anna Dressed in Blood. It has a bit of everything. Well-written, interesting characters, a ghost story, a bit of gore, some chills, and dark romance https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/9378297-anna-dressed-in-blood?from_search=true

      If you had something different in mind, let me know. I have loads of horror favorites to recommend 🙂

Comments are delicious!

