Waiting on Wednesday: Upcoming Books

waiting on wednesday
I have a TON of books. Even if I read one book a day for the rest of the year, I would still have a massive to-be-read shelf. So, what is the one thing I really want now? NEW BOOKS!

I’m like Audrey, the plant from Little Shop of Horrors, only instead of people to eat. I want books to devour, “Feed me, Seymour. Feed me!”

In particular, I want the books I can’t have. You know the ones. The ones that play hard to get with their release dates set far out into the distant future. Here’s my list:

Dangerous Creatures book coverDangerous Creatures by Kami Garcia & Margaret Stohl
Genre: YA, Paranormal Romance
Release Date: May 20th 2014
Ridley Duchanne, the lollipop loving siren of Caster Chronicles is getting her own book series. I confess, I still need to finish the Castor Chronicles. I’ve only read Beautiful Creatures so far. Still, I’m very excited for this book. Ridley was one of my favorite characters. She is dark and complicated and I can’t wait to see what trouble she is getting herself into. Looks like I have some reading to catch up on before this book comes out in May. Eh…I better get started. Particularly since a free preview of the first eight chapters will be released on Amazon April 22. Here’s a link. You can pre-order the preview now.

Sinner book coverSinner by Maggie Stiefvater
Genre
: YA, Paranormal Romance
Release Date: July 1st 2014
This is a standalone companion novel to the Wolves of Mercy Falls trilogy. I love werewolves and as anyone who read my Top 5 Werewolf Novels post knows, I loved Shiver. I wasn’t as impressed with the sequels in the series: Linger and Forever but that had nothing to do with Cole St. Clair. My disappointment came because I thought that four first person narrators in a book were two too many. I would have preferred Linger to focus on Cole and Isabelle. Then Forever could have focused on Sam and Grace. Cole was introduced in Linger and will be the central character of the new book. From the sounds of it Sinner is all about Cole and Isabelle and it’s a standalone so I’m expecting good things from this one.

Undead and Unwary coverUndead and Unwary by MaryJanice Davidson
Genres: Urban Fantasy, Paranormal Romance, Chick Lit
Release Date: October 7th 2014
I’m addicted to this series. I have been since the first book, Undead and Unwed. Unwary will be book thirteen. The description is vague and I still need to read book twelve, but I’ve read enough of these books to know to expect my favorite snarky, foul-mouthed, shoe-hoarding, vampire queen and shenanigans a-plenty. These are my favorite popcorn books. They’re light, funny and you can finish each book in the series in one sitting easily. If you haven’t read these yet, you have plenty of time to catch up before Unwary comes out in October.

Vampire Academy blurayI am also anxiously awaiting Vampire Academy on DVD/Blu-Ray. I know this isn’t a book, but it’s based on one so it’s going on the list! It comes out May 20th  (just in time for my birthday!). I’m really enjoying the book series. I’ve read up through Shadow Kiss and if you’ve read these books, then you know that there is a big cliffhanger at the end of that one so I’m taking a little breather from the series to prepare myself for the next book. I wanted to see the Vampire Academy movie when it was out in theaters but it was only out for a weekend here so I missed it. The trailers looked great though so I am looking forward to the DVD release.

Now I want to hear from you! What books are looking forward to this year? Also, if you’ve seen the Vampire Academy movie what did you think of it?

13 thoughts on “Waiting on Wednesday: Upcoming Books”

  1. I am also so excited for Dangerous Creatures. I still have to finish to the Caster Chronicles as well . (oops). But I got the first 8 chapters of Dangerous Creatures (ebook) on amazon for free and it is suppose to be released on April 22nd!!!

Comments are delicious!

