The Chocolate Book Tag

I saw this posted by Confessions of a Book Geek and decided to yoink it for myself. That’s right. I’m a rebel. I don’t need to be tagged to participate in a book tag. I make my own rules. I’ll tag myself. How do you like that, world?

Moving on.

So the Chocolate Book Tag is an Easter themed tag where you pick books that correspond to kinds of chocolate. I like books. I like chocolate. Let’s do this!

13921161326_5bd1152b86_b

Dark Chocolate (a book with dark content/theme): I am Legend by Richard Matheson. This is one of my favorite books and it is nothing like the Will Smith movie. It is about a man who has survived a plague that has turned most of humanity into vampires but what he doesn’t know is that they are evolving and the one thing the monster at his door is afraid of, is him. A powerful book and a must-read!

White Chocolate (a light-hearted read): The Complete Winnie-the-Pooh by A.A.Milne. My mum read this one to me as a kid and I read it to my son. Funny, sweet and a gentle reminder that as long as you have good friends, you have all you need and more.

Milk Chocolate (a hyped/popular book you really want to read): Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell. I hear nothing but rave reviews for this book. I also enjoyed Rowell’s pep talk during NaNoWriMo so I know I like the way she thinks. I’m also love music and am a child of the ’80s so this book is right up my alley.

Chocolate with a Caramel Centre (a book that made you feel gooey on the inside): The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger. This is one of those rare beautiful books that has had the power to make me laugh out loud and cry. The characterization is phenomenal. I loved Henry and Claire so much and felt for them every step of the way.

Easter-EggsA Wafer-free Kitkat (a book that surprised you): Warm Bodies by Issac Marion. I expected this book to be funny but I was floored by how well-written it is. I read this book extra slow so I could really enjoy the language. Marion is a true wordsmith.

A Snickers Bar (a book you’re going “nuts” about): Cinder by Marissa Meyer. I just started reading this and it is amazing! I am so impressed by the world-building and the well-drawn characters. An exciting read!

Hot Chocolate with Whipped Cream and Marshmallows (a comfort read you turn to again and again): The Story of Ferdinand by Mundro Leaf. I’ve loved this book since I was a kid and it is one that I sit down to read when I need a little time out from the world. There’s a lot of wisdom in this little book. One of my favorites and one that always makes me smile.

A Box of Chocolates (a series that has a lot of things many readers will like): The Adventures of a Demon-Hunting Soccer Mom series by Julie Kenner. I love this series and am surprised that it isn’t more popular. It reminds me a lot of Buffy the Vampire Slayer. Kate, the protagonist, was a demon-hunter growing up but she left that life behind after her first husband was killed. Now she lives a normal, happy life but when she finds demons in her town she has to break out her old skills to save the world. Funny and action-packed!

Now I want to hear from you! What are your picks? Leave a comment below or post about it and link back to me. I’m excited to see what you pick.

Happy Easter!

21 thoughts on “The Chocolate Book Tag”

  1. I love this! I’m not going to lie, I’m probably going to eventually do something similar 😉 I’ve heard great things about Eleanor & Park, too. I’m trying so, so hard to branch out into reading different types of novels. So I’m keeping this post as inspiration! Thanks 🙂

Comments are delicious!

