awesome jones cover

REVIEW: Awesome Jones by Ashley Rose Sullivan

Imagine a fairy tale read by Stan Lee: romance and magic combined with high-flying, comic book action. The result is Awesome Jones.

awesome jones cover

you have to start believing that you can be the man you want to be.

Awesome is a regular guy living in an extraordinary world where superheroes patrol the city and wield incredible powers. Awesome isn’t one of them. He reads their comics and dreams of being a hero, but he’s a regular guy working a desk job. His life turns around when he falls in love with his co-worker Lona Chang. Lona sees something special in Awesome. Her faith in him and the mysteries behind his parent’s death spur him on a journey of self-discovery and danger. Awesome is forced to choose between love and, risking everything to become a hero and live up to his name.

AshleyRose Sullivan’s début novel is a refreshing reminder of what comics book heroes were like before the current gritty superhero reboot trend. Awesome possess nobility and integrity reminiscent of heroes from the ’30s and ’40s. He proves that superheroes don’t need to be dark and broody to be authentic. Sullivan carefully crafts her novel opening with a clipped, omniscient narrative filled with lists, and chores illustrating the minutiae of everyday life that immerses Awesome. That is reality. Not over-saturated skylines and deep gravelly voices, but making dinner, reading the paper, and wanting to be special.

As the novel progresses, Sullivan introduces more detail and brings the audience closer to the characters. We take a journey with Awesome and discover a rich detailed superhero world with an incredible history. Awe-inspiring superheroes become real and tangible. These are characters that readers will identify with.

Once the action begins, Awesome Jones requires superhuman strength to put down. Sulllivan writes gripping action and page-turning suspense.The character’s rise from obscurity will appeal to fans of Spider-man, Disney’s The Incredibles and the CW television series Smallville. Awesome Jones also has enough romance and magic to satiate anyone who grew up loving fairy tales. An inspirational read, that celebrates the magic in the details and the hero inside us all.

AWESOME JONES
AUTHOR: AshleyRose Sullivan
PUBLISHER: Seventh Star Press
RELEASE DATE: March 19, 2014
GENRE: Action, Adventure
LENGTH: 464 pages
SOURCE: Review Copy from Publisher via WatchPlayRead

Advertisements

3 thoughts on “REVIEW: Awesome Jones by Ashley Rose Sullivan”

  1. You know, I’m actually a gigantic fan of the “gritty superhero” as opposed to the old-school portrayal of superheroes being law-abiding, morally unquestionable men who are basically no personality whatsoever. However, the way your review shapes Awesome makes me think I can find it in my cold, black heart to enjoy his adventure anyway haha. Love the review.

    1. Thanks 🙂 I don’t mind gritty when it fits the hero, like Batman but I don’t think that characters that are morally uncomplicated need the gritty reboot treatment to be interesting or have personality. For more on that, check out this article. This guy has some interesting things to say on the subject: http://www.dailydot.com/geek/marvel-dc-captain-america-superman-debate/

      Awesome Jones opens in this very morally black and white world that seems uncomplicated because Awesome is a regular guy with a simple life. He thinks being a superhero is all adventure all the time until he enters that world and sees for himself that it’s a job like any other and the true mark of being a hero is not having powers and wearing a cape but sacrificing everything to do what is right. I think even you and your cold black heart can appreciate that and you’ll like the villain. He’s like something right out of a Grimm’s fairy tale 🙂

Comments are delicious!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s