First Look: Trailer & Posters for ‘The Hunger Games: Mockingjay – Part 1’

The countdown begins! As you probably already know, the final book of the Hunger Games trilogy, Mockingjay has been split into two features films, the first of which releases this fall.

Now I’m not gonna lie, as much as I loved the first two books, particularly Catching Fire, I was not a fan of the final installment. Without giving away too many spoilers, I felt that everything I loved about these characters was subverted. For example, Katniss who was once brave is weak and is used as a pawn for much of the novel. Mockingjay is a bleak read. The violence is also more graphic than in the first two novels. There is a scene in particular at the climax that I can’t see making its way into a PG-13 movie.

I’m still not sure that this book will translate well to the big screen, but everything I’ve seen from the casting of Julianne Moore as President Coin to the return of director Francis Lawrence gives me hope.

However, I was surprised to see that Danny Strong, better known for playing Jonathan Levinson on Buffy the Vampire Slayer, wrote the screenplays for Mockingjay parts 1 & 2. I’m also very excited in part because I’m a huge Buffy fangirl, also because Strong has won numerous awards including two Primetime Emmys and a Golden Globe for his writing of the HBO movies Recount and Game Change. Fangirling aside, I think Mockinjay is in good hands and I’m eager to see the film particularly after seeing the newly released promotional materials.

The posters and teaser trailer look polished and carefully crafted. Clearly, great care is going into this film. They share a cold, austere look that is chilling. The posters used models and not any of the characters that we’ve seen in the films. The models are perfectly posed and painted. They look controlled and that is precisely what the Capitol wants the people of Panem to feel.

Here’s the trailer. Check it out for yourself and let me know what you think. Also, what are your thoughts on the upcoming film?


Mockingjay Part One
releases November 21, 2014.

5 thoughts on “First Look: Trailer & Posters for ‘The Hunger Games: Mockingjay – Part 1’”

  1. I didn’t like the third book, either, but then again, I didn’t so much like the second one and the movie version of that one absolutely knocked the wind out of me with how amazing it was. So I’m certain (read: hopeful) that this one won’t be letting anyone down any time soon.

    I totally feel what you’re sayin’ about how the best, most loved parts about the characters made a 180 in the book, though. That’s*exactly* how I feel about both Katniss and Peeta, but particularly Peeta because I actually really like him, as well as Prim. UGHHH PRIMMM.

    1. I know. I didn’t want to go into too much detail because of spoilers but Peeta wasn’t even the same character anymore. Even Gale seemed to lose his integrity. And Prim! It was like Collins decided to sacrifice the good of all her characters so she could make a point about how senseless and damaging war is but, for me, that didn’t fit the series and went against the themes of bravery, hope, and independence in the face of power and oppression.

  2. I am with you, the final book was a let down, The video doesn’t give too much away, hopefully it is good 🙂

Comments are delicious!

