Grab the Smores, We’re going to Camp NaNoWriMo!

I’m going to camp! Okay, I’m signed up for Camp NaNoWriMo. It’s a lot like regular nano where participants attempt to write a novel in a month, only in Camp Nano, you get to choose your own word count. It has to be at least 10,000 words, but is still a far cry from the hefty 50,000 words needed to complete November NaNoWriMo.

campnano

I began the first draft of my current work in progress, an urban fantasy novel called Pup, last November. I won NaNoWriMo with just over 50,000 words. It was a huge accomplishment for me, but I’ll be honest, I’ve been a very lazy novelist since last winter. I have worked on Pup, but not nearly as much as I should have. Currently, Pup is 67,313 words long and I still have the third act and some fill-in scenes to write. I figure that if I set a goal of 30,000 words for Camp NaNoWriMo that should be enough to finish the draft. An average novel is about 80,000 words and I like to overwrite my rough drafts so that I have plenty of material to work with in revision.

With a nano goal of 30,000, my daily goal will only be 967. Unlike November nano, where I shut myself indoors and didn’t have any sort of life outside of writing for the month, I’m relatively sure that I can meet this goal and still have time to blog and read.

As an added bonus, my 9-year-old son will be unofficially participating in Camp NaNoWriMo. He’s too young to sign up on the site and 10,000 words is a bit daunting for him but he will be writing every day right alongside me. His goal is 2,000 words. He’s writing a middle-grade fantasy called Damon the Demon. I’m very proud of him and am looking forward to spending this time with him.

I am also excited to share this experience with all of you. I will be posting about my progress, but more so I am hoping that those of you that are also participating in Camp NaNoWriMo will join my cabin. There are three of us in the cabin so far: myself and fellow WP bloggers Victoria Davenport (Coffee. Write. Repeat) and Sierra Carrillo (Permashift). My username on the Camp NaNoWriMo site  is hayleyknighten. You can also find me on the regular NaNoWriMo site where my username is also hayleyknighten.

If you are also participating in Camp NaNoWriMo, leave your username in the comments below and I’ll send you an invite to our cabin. See you at camp!

