Becoming a Vampire and Writing While the World Sleeps

Camp NaNoWriMo has turned me into a vampire.

Okay, it’s not as bad as that. I mean, hey, at least I don’t sparkle. What nano has done though is messed with my sleeping schedule so that I am now staying up all night and sleeping through the better part of the day.

day2

It all started the first night of nano, I put my writing off until 2am and then wrote until 5am (by Hayley logic the day is not over until I’ve slept. Yes, I know. There is a fly in my logic ointment). So, then I slept in late. I won’t say how late but let’s just say I would not have been able to order from the McDonald’s breakfast menu. Then I did normal Hayley day stuff which includes cleaning, playing with the kiddo and dancing around the house singing “Rump Shaker”…forget that last part. Of course, I procrastinated again and then at 2am writing happened.

A lot of writing actually, I not only met yesterday’s goal of 1,935 words total, I almost met today’s goal as well. I ended up writing 2,782 words, putting me at 70,095 total for my manuscript.

Surprisingly, I cranked these words out within a couple hours. I think this was in part because there is a huge reveal about one of the characters in the scene I was writing, so I had a lot of exposition to cover.

Still, I was surprised. That’s much more than I usually write in a day never-the-less two hours. I sort of sat there for a moment thinking, “well, that was weird” then went to bed.

So, now I’m left with two problems. One: I need to get back onto people waking hours before someone comes to stake me or some high school kid falls in love with me. This could be difficult because I do tend to enjoy writing at night. I like the quiet but I’m also missing out on fun daytime activities. Ugh am I going to have to give myself a bedtime?

Two: I’ve written about 70,000 words and I’m only halfway through act two. I’ve been developing this book for six years now and writing it since last November. Is this book ever going to end? Am I going to be writing this book when I’m a crazy old cat lady? I am still hoping my goal of 30,000 words for the month will be enough to finally finish this novel. If not, the good news is that I’m over my word count so I guess if I finish early, I can just keep writing (and now I’m hearing Dory from “Finding Nemo” in my head. I am going crazy).

STATS
Total Words Written in July: 2,782
Goal for this point: 1,935
Manuscript total: 70,095
How I feel about writing today:

sleepy
Now I want to hear from you! What time of day (or night?) do you get most of your writing done?

18 thoughts on “Becoming a Vampire and Writing While the World Sleeps”

  1. I tend to write better at night too, lol. My best thoughts come to me when I’m sleepy! I don’t even know why. I’m horrible at setting a schedule for myself. I don’t forget ideas, but particular metaphors I will forget if I don’t write them down. So I go to sleep with my iPhone and jot something down if it comes to me.

  2. I’m pretty good about keeping myself to a set schedule though it does vary at times. I write after I finish exercising in the morning, take a break for lunch and stuff, then continue in the afternoon. Works better during the school year when my son isn’t home all day. I’ll probably be researching and plotting all through summer (pretty convenient actually) which will happen at any time during the day. I don’t write at night because sleep is too important for me to give up. If an idea hits me at night, I daydream about it rather than write it down. I have a pretty good memory when it comes to the movies in my head.

  3. Good on you Hayley! You are writing like I wish I could write. I’m better in the afternoon. Truth be told, I’m just better when everybody leaves me alone, which doesn’t happen much. I’m a bit behind my goal but I’m putting in some time everyday.

  4. I can definitely relate! Most of my writing for my WIP is done during the day but I always end up awake into the early hours scribbling ideas or writing poetry. The joys of being a writer, eh? 😉

    1. The joys, the sleeplessness, the “why, oh why am I doing this? My writing sucks. No one will ever want to read this” and then the “damn, I’m awesome. Seriously, I should publish a billion books!” We writers live a roller coaster life 🙂

Comments are delicious!

