Writing Challenge Accepted! Turning a Random Group of Words Into a Story

You may have noticed that I’ve had a bit of a blogging hiatus. After Camp Nanowrimo I needed a blogging/writing break to focus on my family.  I missed blogging and writing but the longer I spent away, the more anxiety I felt about trying to catch up.  The thought of returning to my routine seemed overwhelming. What I really needed was a push and thankfully my writing buddy Brianne (itlookseasyinthemovies) has given me just the kick in the pants I needed. Brianne issued me a writing challenge from her new blog It’s This or Grad School. She wrote:

I propose we assign each other writing prompts on alternating weeks. Responses will be limited to between 500-750 words, and will in no way require perfection, complete plots, or literary merit. It will require creativity, a response within a week, and a reciprocating word prompt throw-down.

Sounds easy enough. Here is the challenge:

I can’t listen to Train’s song Hey Soul Sister without remembering those improvisation games where you have to use a random mash of words to create something new. So thank Train for the following words to include in your story – stains, moonbeam, mister, soul sister, game show, untrimmed, virgin, thug, lobe, and stereo.

Okay, this won’t be easy, but I think I can do this.

tumblr_n39tffHOEd1sej561o3_400I call this experiment:

Piercing Reality

Go to the party she said. It’ll be fun she said. And it was fun when it was all prank calling boys and eating junk food. No one ever warned me that all that fun comes at a price and so here I sit, quaking in my Hello Kitty pajama pants while the girl with the hippy name I can’t remember presses an ice-cube against my virgin ear lobe.

“This numbs it so you won’t feel a thing,” Rainbow or Moonbeam or whatever-the-hell-her-name-is says.

But why? I want to ask. Sure, I get that all the other girls have pierced ears and we’re bonding and calling each other Soul Sisters, but now that I’m sitting here wincing as I wait for the needle to be shoved through my flesh. Ridiculous. At what point in the history of womanhood did we decide that piercing holes in our bodies was an attractive prospect? Did someone just stand up out of the blue sometime after the wheel was invented and before bras were burned and say, “you’ll never believe the crazy idea I cooked up today.” And how did this catch on? There had to have been blood, pain, possibly stains on their cute buckled pilgrim shoes or togas or whatever they wore then. I doubt it was pretty. Yet somehow this barbaric tradition has prevailed and become so fashionable that my mother, who tells me that I’m too young for R-rated movies, managed to convince me that amateur slumber party ear piercing is a normal right of passage? This isn’t fun. I feel like I’m on one of those game shows like Fear Factor or Survivor.

Bad train of thought. I need to focus on something else. I try to avert my eyes from my impending doom but looking proves difficult when I have to keep my head still. Instead, I look down at my untrimmed toenails. I don’t know how I ever let them get so out of control. They’re gross. Like Sasquatch gross. Seriously, what does a  girl got to do to get her hands on a pair of clippers. Wait, no. You know what? I don’t care. My toes are in their natural, untouched state. Cry freedom, toenails! You will not be cut down. Not today. Not by me. In fact, starting today I will abstain from all unnecessary body modification. People aren’t born with toenail clippers, toothbrushes and jewelry. Those are society’s tools. The Man’s tools. I don’t need to listen to The Man. In fact, I’m going to find this Man and I’m going to walk right up to him, look him in the eye and say, Hey mister

SWEET BABY JESUS!

“You okay?” Moonbeam asks and I put my hand to my ear. I don’t know what I expected. A gushing wound maybe, but it hardly seems like it’s bleeding at all. Damn, I’m tough– like Wolverine tough. Thug life, yo.

page-break

NEXT CHALLENGE: Okay, I did it. It wasn’t pretty, but I used all the words so now on to Brianne’s challenge. Feel free to join us in our challenges if they sound fun to you. My challenge for Brianne is for her to rewrite a scene from her current work-in-progress from the point-of-view of an opposing character and post it in her blog response. Any 500-700 word section will do. Have fun!

7 thoughts on “Writing Challenge Accepted! Turning a Random Group of Words Into a Story”

Comments are delicious!

