Mockingjay 2 Poster

Teaser for Mockingjay Part 2 Looks Better Than the Book

Another year; another Hunger Games. I won’t lie, I’m nervous about The Hunger Games: Mockingjay Part Two. Forewarning, spoilers ahead. If you haven’t seen Mockingjay Part One, you might want to stop reading here and get on that or just skip to the end of this article and check out the new teaser trailer for the film.

Mockingjay 2 Poster

For me, the book was a huge disappointment that subverted everything I loved about Katniss, Peeta and Gale. I probably would have tossed the book at the wall when I finished it if I hadn’t been reading it on my Kindle. Brave Katniss struggles with PTSD and becomes a pawn to District 13. The capital brainwashes loyal Peeta and makes him strike out against Katniss. And Gale, well if you haven’t read the book, you’ll likely see for yourself in the film.

Thematically, it took a dark turn and that’s saying a lot considering these books are about a reality TV show where kids murder one another to win. That’s not to say I don’t appreciate a dark story. I do, but  what killed it for me was that I had really gotten behind Katniss and wanted to see her take charge and lead a revolution. Instead, she goes balls crazy and as a reader, I just felt sorry for her. Where the earlier books offered hope and gave us characters to root for, Mockingjay felt bleak and ugly.

I won’t spoil the ending suffice to say that I am curious to see if the filmmakers will alter it. Mockingjay Part Two is PG-13 so I expect an ending that is either toned down on changed altogether. That said, I have faith in screenwriter Danny Strong. Yeah, part of that is because I’ve loved him as Jonathan on Buffy the Vampire Slayer, but a larger part is due to the fantastic job he did adapting the first part of the book in Mockingjay Part One. Each film in the series has been phenomenal so far and fans couldn’t ask for better casting. Based on the past three films, I have no doubt that Mockingjay Part 2 will satisfy readers and moviegoers alike.

Check out the new teaser trailer and posters and let me know what you thought of the book and if you plan to go see Hunger Games: Mockingjay Part Two when it hits theaters November 20.

Teaser trailer. (Seriously, can Donald Sutherland be any creepier?)

6 thoughts on “Teaser for Mockingjay Part 2 Looks Better Than the Book”

  1. I did enjoy the books when I read it but suffice to say, I didn’t like Mockingjay Part 1 at all. It felt like they had unnecessarily split the movie in half when it didn’t and to me, it dragged a lot. I’m hoping that I will enjoy Part 2 more because it has a lot of the major events (*cough deaths that will make me cry cough*). I did like the other two films a lot though. Like Catching Fire was seriously intense! I don’t really keep up with directors or actors or anything… actually I know next to nothing about them but yay for actors that sound pretty good!

Comments are delicious!

